## Historical Synopsis of the 2009 Academy Annual Meeting

For its seventy-first annual meeting, November 4-7, 2009, the Academy returned to the lovely Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida. Included in the 222 attendees were 80 (of a total of 101) Active members, 25 Senior members and 32 neurosurgeon guests. In our Business Meeting, we noted the loss of 3 of our members since the last annual meeting: Fernando Cabieses, Richard DeSaussure, Jr. and Al Luessenhop. Six candidates were nominated for Active membership (Anthony Asher, Ann-Christine Duhaime, Murat Gunel, Frederick Lang, Rafael Tamargo, and Michael Tymianski) and 1 for Corresponding membership (Volker Seifert), all of whom were elected. Dr. Robert Solomon was nominated and elected to the office of PresidentElect. The Business Meeting devoted special time to reconsideration of the relationship between the Academy, the neurosurgery industry, and particularly corporate sponsors of the Academy. In the future their unrestricted grants will be placed in an endowment fund supporting the educational mission of the Academy. An amendment to the bylaws in this regard was adopted by the membership.

The scientific program under James Markert included an array of presentations on clinical and translational neuroscience as well as special presentations by Academy guest Sanjay Gupta speaking on "Medicine and the Media" and Presidential friend Admiral Vern Clark's perspectives on the military in the 21<sup>st</sup> century. Our President Ralph Dacey provided a powerful address on societal factors affecting education of current and future generations of neurosurgical residents and the threat to preserving the critical elements of personal responsibility and accountability in patient care. As always, the social program was delightful with special credit and thanks to our Local Arrangements Hosts Dan and Mollie Barrow.